Holiday Nostalgia

The holiday season is absolutely the best.  What we love most is the gathering together of the people who mean the most.  Of course when that happens we throw ourselves into party preparation mode and that’s when it really becomes fun.  Sometimes you don’t have to go far to find the the best inspiration.

Erica here…in my case it’s my parents’ Cape Cod on the hill.  Last week I traveled to my small Central New York hometown to spend Thanksgiving with my extended family.  Whenever I walk through my parents’ home I am inspired all over again and am reminded where my love for antiques was born (quite literally).  Their home is filled with countless vintage treasures like old ink wells and feather pens, glass bottles, copper boilers, an antique sewing machine and a roll top desk.  They have vintage lunch boxes and china cabinets and porcelain jugs just to add a few.  Virtually every corner and surface is home to another wonderful piece.

I love to hear my parents tell of their weekend trips to Madison-Boukville to treasure hunt “before us kids came along,” and I guess it’s true the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree because here we are today.  During these holidays I am thankful for my family and the love of vintage they imparted on me.

Leave a Reply

